The Seattle Seahawks are the only franchise in NFL history to switch conference twice after the NFL-AFL merger in 1970. After three non-descript decades, the Seahawks have emerged as a perennial contender in the NFC. Before looking forward to the new Seahawks schedule, let’s take a look at the franchise’s history.

Seahawks Schedule: Past and Present

The Seahawks were formed when Seattle was granted an expansion franchise in 1974. Originally, the new team was going to be called the Kings, but the Seahawks moniker was selected after a naming contest. The Seahawks began play in 1976 in the NFC and went 2-12 in their inaugural season. Seattle moved to the AFC the following year.

The Seahawks reached the postseason for the first time in 1983 and advanced all the way to the AFC Championship Game, but suffered a 30-14 loss to the Los Angeles Raiders. Seattle again reached the postseason in 1984, ’87 and ’88, but never advanced past the Divisional Round.

The team had only one other playoff appearance from 1989-2002 and the ‘Hawks moved back to the NFC following the ’02 season. With Mike Holmgren as head coach and Matt Hasselbeck at quarterback, the Seahawks also moved into the brand new Seahawks Stadium in ’02.

The Seahawks suffered back-to-back first-round losses in 2003 and 2004, but 2005 would prove to be their finest year. On the legs of running back and NFL MVP Shaun Alexander, the Seahawks went 13-3, won the NFC West title and knocked off the Carolina Panthers to advance to the Super Bowl for the first time in team history. However, The Seahawks were unable to complete the storybook season, as they suffered a 21-10 loss to the Pittsburgh Steelers in Super Bowl XL.

The new era of the Seahawks is led by head coach Pete Carroll and young quarterback Russell Wilson. The Seahawks selected Wilson in the third round of the 2012 draft. After surprisingly being named the starter prior to the start of the season, Wilson led the ‘Hawks to an 11-5 record and a Wild Card berth

Seattle enters the 2014 season as defending champions after demolishing the Denver Broncos, 43-8, in Super Bowl XLVIII.

Download: Seahawks Schedule