Few teams in NFL history have more of an interesting past than the Buffalo Bills. Today, the Bills are the only NFL team billed from New York to actually play in the state. Before taking a look at the upcoming Bills schedule, let’s take a look at the team’s history and past.

Bills Schedule: Past and Present

The Bills hold the distinction of being one of the original eight teams that made up the American Football League. The Bills played in the inaugural AFL season in 1960 and moved on to the NFL during the merger in 1970. Since their inception, the Bills have been owned by Ralph Wilson. The Bills have played their home games at Ralph Wilson Stadium in Orchard Park since 1973.

The franchise enjoyed its lengthiest period of success from 1988-1999. The Bills reached the playoffs in all but two of the seasons during that stretch. The Bills also won a record four consecutive conference titles from 1990-1993, but Buffalo would go on to lose in the Super Bowl all four times. After a one-point loss to the New York Giants in Super Bowl XXV, the Bills were blown out by the Washington Redskins and the Dallas Cowboys twice.

The Bills also suffered a heartbreaking 22-16 loss in the Wild Card round in 1999 to the Tennessee Titans. Tennessee scored the game-winning touchdown in the closing seconds of the fourth quarter on what will forever be known as the “Music City Miracle.” Entering 2013, the Bills have not been back to the playoffs since the loss. The stretch is the longest current playoff drought in the NFL.

Some of the all-time greats have played for the Bills, including Jim Kelly, Thurman Thomas, Andre Reed, Jack Kemp and Thurman Thomas. However, the Bills enter the upcoming campaign as a team seemingly stuck in neutral and once again in transition.

The 2014 campaign marks the  Bills’ 45th NFL season. The Bills have finished over .500 only once since ’99. Buffalo hasn’t won more than seven games in a season since 2004.

Download: Bills Schedule