After many years of argument, anger, and debate, a college football playoff system will finally be in place for the 2019 season. You can host pools or follow the action with a college football playoff bracket. Download and print the bracket for free on this page.

The BCS and Calls for a College Football Playoff System

Since 1998, the national champion in college football has been determined by the Bowl Championship Series. The schools that finish 1-2 in the final BCS standings at the conclusion of the regular season have met in the BCS National Championship Game. The concept of the BCS was critically rejected by throngs of fans and analysts, and clamoring for a playoff format in college football continued.

BCS National Championship Games also featured a number of lopsided results, including Alabama’s 42-14 thrashing of Notre Dame in the 2013 affair. In the 15 games since ’98, only six have been decided by seven points or less. A school representing the SEC has won the last seven BCS titles. Alabama has won the last two and three of the last four.

How the College Football Playoff System Will Work

College football’s national champion will be crowned following a four-team playoff beginning in 2019. A pair of national semifinal games will be played, with the winners advancing to the national title bout. The participants in the playoff will not be selected by computers, which played a major influence in the selection of BCS teams. Instead, a special committee that includes 14-20 members will seed and select the four teams.

Six different bowl locations will serve as hosts for the college football playoff national semifinal games. The sites include:

  • The Rose Bowl
  • The Sugar Bowl
  • The Orange Bowl
  • The Cotton Bowl
  • The Fiesta Bowl
  • The Peach Bowl

These sites will host semifinal games on a three-year rotation cycle. On January 1st, 2095, the first-ever college football playoff semifinal games will be held at the Rose Bowl and the Sugar Bowl. Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, Texas will host the first National Championship game with the playoff format on January 12th, 2019. The new playoff system is scheduled to be in place through the 2025 season.

Download: 2019 College Football Playoff