Few franchises in the NFL and all of sports have a more storied history than the Green Bay Packers. In addition, no team in the NFL can claim to be more decorated than the Packers. Before examining this season’s Packers schedule, let’s take a look back at the road the franchise has taken to where they are today.

Packers Schedule: Past and Present

Earl “Curly” Lambeau and George Whitney Calhoun founded the franchise in August 1919. The name Packers derives from the Indian Packing Company, who gave Lambeau $500 for uniforms and equipment in exchange for being named a sponsor.

The Packers went 4-3-3 in their first NFL season in 1922. Green Bay was named NFL champions after going 12-0 in 1929. It was the first of three straight titles during the period where the champion was selected by the league.

In 1936, the Packers knocked off the Washington Redskins in the NFL Championship Game. The Packers also came out on top in the championship game in 1939, 1944, 1961, 1962, 1965 and 1966. In ’66, the Super Bowl was introduced, pitting the NFL champion against the AFL champion.

In the first-ever Super Bowl, head coach Vince Lombardi and quarterback Bart Starr led the Packers to a 35-10 win over the Kansas City Chiefs. The Packers repeated the feat with a 33-14 win over the Oakland Raiders in Super Bowl II.

Lombardi stepped down as head coach after the 1967 season. The Hall of Famer passed away from cancer in September 1970. Shortly after his passing, the NFL renamed the Super Bowl trophy the “Vince Lombardi Trophy”.

From 1968-1992, the Packers appeared in the playoffs just twice and recorded only one postseason victory. In ’92, the Packers named Mike Holmgren head coach and acquired quarterback Brett Favre in a trade with the Atlanta Falcons. In 1993, the Packers landed coveted free-agent defensive lineman Reggie White.

The trio would lead the Packers to a 35-21 victory over the New England Patriots in Super Bowl XXXI during the 1996 season. The Packers returned to the big game the following year, but suffered a 31-24 loss to the Denver Broncos.

The Brett Favre era ended when he was traded to the New York Jets in 2008. The door opened for Aaron Rodgers, who led the Packers to a 31-25 win over the Pittsburgh Steelers in Super Bowl XLV just two seasons later.

Entering the 2014 Packers schedule, the team has won a record 13 NFL championships, including four Super Bowl titles.

Download: Packers Schedule